The Punjab Kings (PK) are a franchise cricket team from in Mohali, Punjab, that plays in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Established in 2008, the franchise is jointly owned by Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta and Karan Paul. The team plays its home matches at the PCA Stadium, Mohali. Since 2010, they also have been playing some of their home games at either Dharamsala or Indore.

The Kings XI Punjab played in the now-defunct Champions League Twenty20 once, in 2014 and finished as semi-finalists. On 17 February 2021, KXIP was renamed to Punjab Kings before the IPL 2021.

Punjab Kings Squad 2021

Players retained:   

KL RahulCaptain / WicketkeeperMangalore, India
Ishan PorelBowlerChinsurah, India
Sarfaraz KhanBatsmanMumbai, India
Murugan AshwinBowlerSivaganga, India
Nicholas PooranWicket-keeperCouva Trinidad and tobago
Chris GayleBatsmanKingston, Jamaica
Mohammed ShamiBowlerAmroha, India
Deepak HoodaBatsmanRohtak, India
Mandeep SinghBatsmanJalandhar, India
Mayank AgarwalBatsmanBengaluru, India
Chris JordanBowlerChrist Church, Barbados
Ravi BishnoiBowlerJodhpur, India
Harpreet BrarBowlerIndia
Prabhsimran SinghWicket-keeperPatiala, India
Darshan NalkandeBowlerWardha, India

Players Additions:

Dawid MalalanBatsmanRoehampton london, Inited Kingdom
Jhye RichardsonBowlerMurdoch, Australia
Shahrukh KhanBatsmanChennai, India
Riley MeredithBowlerHobart, Australia
Moises HenriquesAll-RounderFunchal, Portugal
Jalaj SaxenaAll-RounderIndore, India
Utkarsh SinghAll-RounderIndia
Fabian AllenAll-rounderKingston, Jamaica
Saurabh KumarBowlerBaghpat, India

The recently renamed Punjab kings formaly knowns as King XI Punjab, had the biggest funds going into the 2021 IPL player auction with Rs 53.20 crore and they used them to thier edge to fill the available slots.

Kick off the auction with a wallet of Rs 53.20 crore, Punjab Kings were expected to make some big action in the market and they have not disappointed. They take up Aussie fast Jhye Richardson for Rs 14 crore, Moises Henriques for Rs 4.2 crore, Riley Meredith for Rs 8 crore and uncapped player Shahrukh Khan for Rs 5.25 crore.

Apart from the big spend, they made some reasonable buys as well such as number one ranked T20 batsman Dawid Malan Rs 1.50 crore, Jalaj Saxena for Rs 30 lakh, Utkarsh Singh for Rs 20 lakh and all-rounder Saurabh Kumar for Rs 20 lakh.

The Punjab franchise has a intimidating upmost call in KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal and Nicholas Pooran. The addition of Dawid Malan has only boobst their game. They would have wanted to get some strength  back into the team after having released Glenn Maxwell. This is the reason why they spend the cash on the hard-hitting Shahrukh Khan.